R.J. Porter Wins 2016 Melges 17 ILYA and National Championship!

R.J. Porter Wins 2016 Melges 17 ILYA and National Championship!

11 July 2016

A full round of congratulations is in order for R.J. Porter aboard Full Throttle as he and teammate Will Huerth/Clare Perry are the 2016 Melges 17 ILYA and National Champions! Coming in second was Harry Melges IV and Finn Rowe on White Heat, followed by Monroe and Harry Melges III on Bisous. Kyle and Dave Navin on 5-Star came fourth and Lesa Gutenkunst and her husband John on E-9 rounded out the top five.

Thirteen fantastic Melges 17s ascended upon Pewaukee Yacht Club for a great event. Over the weekend, a total of seven races were completed with the biggest battle between Porter and Melges. Each maintained a solid string of top three finishes to end the event first and second.

Monroe Melges, Kyle Navin, and JP Friend were among the other competitors to take home some race wins.

A very special thanks to all the teams who came to race as if it were not for you, this fantastic and fun, super summertime event would not have been possible. Thanks to the amazing Pewaukee Yacht Club for the, world-class racing, entertainment, fantastic hospitality and friendly atmosphere.

FULL RESULTS (After Seven Races, One Discard)
1.) RJ Porter/Will Huerth/Clare Perry, Full Throttle; 3-1-2-1-[8]-3-2 = 12
2.) Harry Melges IV/Finn Rowe, White Heat; 2-3-3-2-2-[4]-1 = 13
3.) Monroe Melges/Harry Melges III, Bisous; 1-4-8-[15/DNS]-3-1-3 = 20
4.) Kyle Navin/Dave Navin, 5-Star; 4-8-1-[9]-4-5-6 = 28
5.) Lesa and John Gutenkunst, E-9; 6-2-6-3-6-[8]-5 = 28
6.) Alec Bischoff/Gavin Burkhart, Boaty; 5-6-5-7-5-6-[10] = 34
7.) Hans Meyer/Susan Sternkopf, Loxos; 8-9-4-4-7/RDG-[10]-4 = 36
8.) JP Friend/Red Tornehl, Flagship; 9-[12]-11-8-1-2-8 = 39
9.) Christian Spencer/Sam Spencer, USA-228; [10]-5-7-6-9-9-7 = 43
10.) Jack Schweda/Jim Gluek, USA-95; 11-7-[15DNF]-5-7-7-9 = 46
11.) Dave Winquist/Mike Wolak, V-60; [12]-11-9-10-10-11-11 = 62
12.) Simon Rolfs/Alby Rolfs, Albadore; 13-10-10-[15/DNF]-15/DNS-15/DNS-15/DNS = 78
13.) Nathan Freytag/Daniel Pearce, MadCap; 7-15/DNS-15/DNS-15/DNS-15/DNS-15/DNS-15/DNS = 82

Visit the Official Regatta Network Event Website

View Photo Gallery

Site Designed by JOY Marketing