Andy and Iggy Labanauskas Win Second Consecutive Major Melges 17 Event

Andy and Iggy Labanauskas Win Second Consecutive Major Melges 17 Event

7 April 2007

07 APRIL 2007 ? (Article by Sam Rogers) If the sailors thought the cold temperatures and strong breeze yesterday was bad, Saturday morning was colder and gusts into the low 30s. Hoping that the breeze would taper off as the daily temperature rose, PRO Tommy Harken postponed racing for a few hours. Instead of diminishing, the breeze built and it was clear that the only logical thing to do would be to de-rig the boats leaving Friday's results as the final.

Iggy Labanauskas and his brother Andy were handed the title. Bill and Angie Wiggins proudly accepted second place and in third, Bill Fauntleroy and steady crew Tommy Clough.

Although most were disappointed not to be racing in such a tight regatta, most ended up checking out Charleston's glorious sights, shopping and lunch spots. It is such a great town and great place to bring family anytime of the year.

The race committee and organizers of the regatta did a great job of getting the races off in a timely manner and made sure that everyone was taken care of. The trophy presentation will be held at none other than Sonny Meavers historic mansion on the harbor front. Sonny graciously opens his house up to all the sailors to truly get a taste of historic Charleston. Make your way to Charleston next year and you will not be disappointed. Congratulations to all the winners!

Final Results:

1. Iggy and Andy Labanauskas (5)
2. Bill and Angie Wiggins (9)
3. Bill Fauntleroy and Tommy Clough (12)
4. Peter Marenakos (13)
5. Bob Heathcote (17)
6. Ken Wruk (18)
7. Blaine Unicume (21)
8. Mark Unicume (25)
9. Rob Kimball (25)
Site Designed by JOY Marketing